Manfred Manns Earth Band - The Roaring Silence
Label: Bronze ‎– BRONZE 28.789-I, Bronze ‎– 28.789-I
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: Spain
Date of released: 1978
Category: Rock
Style: Prog Rock
Genre: Rock
Musician: Manfred Mann's Earth Band
Album's name: The Roaring Silence
ZIP archive size: 1781

Manfred Manns Earth Band - The Roaring Silence

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Blinded By The Light
Written-By – Bruce Springsteen
A2 Singing The Dolphin Through
Written-By – Mike Heron
A3 Waiter, There's A Yawn In My Ear
Written-By – Mann*
B1 The Road To Babylon
Written-By – Pattenden*, Mann*, Thomas*
B2 This Side Of Paradise
Written-By – Pattenden*, Mann*, Thomas*
B3 Starbird
Written-By – Slade*, Mann*
B4 Questions
Written-By – Slade*, Mann*

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Ariola Eurodisc S.A.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Bronze Records, Inc.
  • Distributed By – Ariola Eurodisc S.A.
  • Pressed By – Iberofon, S.A.
  • Printed By – T.G. Hostench, S.A.
  • Recorded At – The Workhouse Studios
  • Mixed At – Advision Studios
  • Mixed At – The Workhouse Studios
  • Mastered At – CBS Studios, London


  • Arranged By [Horn Arrangement] – Derek Wadsworth
  • Backing Vocals – Doreen & Irene Chanter*, Mick Rogers, Suzanne Lynch
  • Bass – Colin Pattenden
  • Choir – Chris Sennett, Gillian Ainscow, Graham Jenkins, Hilary Farmborough, Jacqueline Nicholls, Janet Bunting, Jeremy Paynton-Jones, Laurence Holden, Marilyn Bennett, Peter Cudmore, Philip Keywood, Stan Bailey
  • Crew [Road Crew] – Charlie MacPherson, Mick Poole, Mick Williams , Mouse
  • Design [Album] – Shirtsleeve Studio
  • Drums, Percussion [Percs.], Backing Vocals – Chris Slade
  • Engineer – Laurence Latham*
  • Guitar, Vocals – Chris Hamlet Thompson*
  • Keyboards – Manfred Mann
  • Lead Guitar – Dave Flett
  • Management – Harry Maloney
  • Mastered By – Arun Chakraverty
  • Other [3736 Cups Of Tea, Nearly Sang On The Album] – Mary Hopper
  • Other [Credit For Waiting On The Credits] – Candy Temple
  • Photography By [Group Photographs] – Martyn Goddard
  • Producer – Manfred Mann And Earthband*
  • Recorder – David Culpan, Margaret Wood, Tony Rowell
  • Saxophone [Sax Solo] – Barbara Thompson
  • Soloist [Alternately] – Chris Thompson (tracks: B3), Dave* (tracks: B3), Manfred* (tracks: B3)
  • Soloist [Guitar] – Chris Thompson (tracks: A2), Dave Flett (tracks: A1, A3 to B2, B4)
  • Strings – David Millman
  • Technician [Tape Operator] – Edwin Cross
  • Vocals [End Vocal] – Manfred Mann (tracks: A1)


Info from cover (rear):
Guitar, Dave Flett, Except "Singing the Dolphin through" by Chris Thompson.
"Starbird", Manfred, Dave, Manfred, Chris Thompson alternately.
Recorded at the Workhouse, Old Kent Road, London, 1976.
(Thanks to Pete Walters)
Mixed at the Workhouse and Advision Studios
(Thanks to Paul Northfield and Declan)
Mastered at CBS London.
Production: (Thanks to Dave Hadfield)
Harry Maloney Management
490 Old Kent Road
London SE1
'Waiter, there is a yawn in my ear' recorded live with studio overdubs.
℗ 1976 Bronze Records Limited
"Licensed by Island Records Ltd."
ARIOLA-EURODISC, S. A. - Calle Aragón, 204, Barcelona-11 (España)
T.G. Hostench, S.A.
Córcega 231-233.
Barcelona 1978

Info from centre labels:
Side A:
Edita y Distrib. Ariola Eurodisc, S.A.
℗ 1976 Bronze Records, Inc.
Produced by Manfred Mann & Earth Band
Side B:
Fab. en España por Iberofón, S.A.

Other info:
The second part of original Category BRONZE ILPS 9357 was partially erased on the cover backside and overprinted with 28.789-I which results in BRONZE 28.789-I.
The following info was erased but is still partially readable: "Manufactured and distributed by Island Records Limited."
Track B3 has a printing error on the centre label: "Satrbird".
Producer credit is given as "Produced by Manfred Mann & Earth Band" on the centre label and as "Produced by Manfred Mann and Earthband" on the cover.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Other (Fabricadfo en España por Iberofon, S.A.): Permiso Nº 5854
  • Depósito Legal (Kept from first edition): B. 46158-1976
  • Other (Imp. de Lujo a metálico): Perm. 6.649
  • Rights Society: B.I.E.M.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ILPS 9357 Manfred Mann's Earth Band The Roaring Silence ‎(LP, Album) Bronze ILPS 9357 UK 1976
27 870 XOT Manfred Mann's Earth Band The Roaring Silence ‎(LP, Album) Bronze 27 870 XOT Austria 1976
M5-3055, M5 3055 Manfred Mann's Earth Band The Roaring Silence ‎(Cass, Album, RE) Warner Bros. Records, Bronze, Warner Bros. Records, Bronze M5-3055, M5 3055 Canada 1977
BSK 3055 Manfred Mann's Earth Band The Roaring Silence ‎(LP, Album, TP) Warner Bros. Records BSK 3055 US 1976
CECC-00123 Manfred Mann's Earth Band The Roaring Silence ‎(CD, Album) Century Records CECC-00123 Japan 1990