Miles Davis - Porgy And Bess
Label: Columbia ‎– CS 8085
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress, Stereo, 360 Sound
Country: US
Date of released: 1963
Category: Jazz
Style: Big Band, Modal
Genre: Jazz
Musician: Miles Davis
Album's name: Porgy And Bess
ZIP archive size: 1663

Miles Davis - Porgy And Bess

Download links

Miles Davis - Porgy And Bess
MP3 album ZIP archive

11663 downloads at 25 mb/s
Miles Davis - Porgy And Bess
FLAC album ZIP archive

2422 downloads at 22 mb/s


A1 The Buzzard Song
A2 Bess, You Is My Woman Now
A3 Gone
A4 Gone, Gone, Gone
A5 Summertime
A6 Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
B1 Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
B2 Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab
B3 My Man's Gone Now
B4 It Ain't Necessarily So
B5 Here Come De Honey Man
B6 I Loves You, Porgy
B7 There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Columbia 30th Street Studio


  • Bass – Paul Chambers
  • Composed By – George Gershwin
  • Conductor – Gil Evans
  • Drums – "Philly" Joe Jones (tracks: A1, A3 to B1, B3, B6, B7), Jimmy Cobb (tracks: A2, B2, B4, B5)
  • Engineer – Ray Moore
  • Flute – Jerome Richardson (tracks: A1, A6, B1), Phil Bodner (tracks: A2, A3, A4, A5, B2 to B7), Romeo Penque
  • French Horn – Gunther Schuller, Julius Watkins, Willie Ruff
  • Liner Notes – Charles Edward Smith
  • Photography By [Front Cover] – Roy De Carava*
  • Producer – Cal Lampley, Teo Macero
  • Saxophone – Cannonball Adderly*, Daniel B. Banks*
  • Trombone – Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Joseph Bennett, Dick Hixon*
  • Trumpet – Bernie Glow, Ernie Royal, Johnny Coles, Louis R. Mucci
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Miles Davis
  • Tuba – Bill Barber


This is the 1st repress on coveted Columbia 2-eye label and "NONBREAKABLE" beneath the Category. "360 SOUND STEREO ..." at the bottom in black letters (on the 2nd repress these letters are white).
(R) Columbia [logo] Marcas Reg.
Printed in U.S.A.
Housed in company blue sleeve.

Recorded 7/22/1958, 7/29/1958, 8/04/1958, and 8/18/1958 at the Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code (Side A Center-label): XSM 44663
  • Label Code (Side B Center-label): XSM 44664

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CS 8085 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess ‎(LP, Album) Columbia CS 8085 US 1958
CBS 32188, CBS 62108 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess ‎(LP, Album, RE) CBS, CBS CBS 32188, CBS 62108 Europe Unknown
CL 1274 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Columbia CL 1274 US Unknown
CBS 450985 1 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess ‎(LP, Album, RE, RM) CBS, Suzy CBS 450985 1 Yugoslavia 1988
NOTLP121 Miles Davis Porgy & Bess ‎(LP, Album, RE, RM) Not Now Music NOTLP121 UK 2010