Johnny Paycheck - Outlaw At The Cross
Folk, World, & Country
Label: Damascus To The Cross Records ‎– JP-1001
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Date of released: 01 Nov 1988
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country, Honky Tonk, Gospel
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Musician: Johnny Paycheck
Album's name: Outlaw At The Cross
ZIP archive size: 1840

Johnny Paycheck - Outlaw At The Cross


1 Scars 2:34
2 Equal Opportunity 2:15
3 Singing Sunday 2:33
4 Elijah 2:28
5 The Outlaw's Prayer 4:23
6 John The Baptist 2:14
7 Since You Were A Man 3:58
8 God Can Do It 2:55
9 River Of Life 3:41
10 Jesus Got A Hold On Me 3:27


  • Bass – Rick Long
  • Drums – Danny Breeden
  • Fiddle – Kenny Sears
  • Guitar – John Long, Johnny Paycheck
  • Piano – Jerry Pearson
  • Producer – Billy Don Burns
  • Steel Guitar – Chuck Mandez


2010 re-released as "Gospel" with a wrong track separation between "The Outlaw's Prayer" (5:30) and "John The Baptist" (1:18).

Quote from "The Victoria Advocate" on 23. September 1988:

"Country singer Johnny Paycheck, facing a prison sentence for a barroom shooting, is donating his royalties from a new gospel music album to fight AIDS in children, a spokesman said Thursday in Nashville.

Billy D. Burns, executive producer of the album "Outlaw at the Cross", said Paycheck will give the money to a Los Angeles-based agency that helps children with AIDS.

The album, on Damascus to the Cross Records, will be available next week. Paycheck's royalties amount to $1.10 per record sold, Burns said."

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
none Johnny Paycheck Gospel ‎(CD) Pretty World Records none US 2010