Roger Shields - Piano Music In America Vol. II: 1900-1945
Label: Vox Productions ‎– SVBX 5303, VoxBox ‎– SVBX 5303
Type: 3 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Box
Country: US
Date of released: 1976
Category: Classical
Style: Modern
Genre: Reggae
Musician: Roger Shields
Album's name: Piano Music In America Vol. II: 1900-1945
ZIP archive size: 1525

Roger Shields - Piano Music In America Vol. II: 1900-1945


A1 The Anti-Abolitionist Riots 2:31
A2 Some Southpaw Pitching 2:53
A3 "The Alcotts" From The "Concord" Sonata No. 2 6:18
A4 Five Movements From "Woodland Sketches," Opus 61 12:46
B1 Exultation 2:22
B2 Invention 1:04
B3 Aeolian Harp 1:58
B4 Advertisement 1:30
Two Movements From Roman Sketches, Opus 7
B5 The White Peacock 5:28
B6 The Fountain Of The Acqua Paola 3:05
B7 Second Sonata, "Airplane" 5:35
Three Preludes
C1 No. 1: Allegro Ben Rimato E Deciso 1:17
C2 No. 2: Andante Con Moto E Poco Rubato 3:38
C3 No. 3: Allegro Ben Rimato E Deciso 1:08
C4: Impromptu 6:21
C5: Six Movements From "New And Old" 9:26
D1 Evocations, Four Chants For Piano 10:40
D2 Piano Sonata, Opus 1 13:30
E1 From My Diary 9:52
E2 Three-Score Set 3:05
E3 Piano Variations 12:46
F1 Passacaglia 6:32
F2 Piano Sonata No. 3 4:24
Two Movements From Ten Etudes
F3 Parallel Chords (Tango) 2:21
F4 Ragtime Bass 1:44
F5 Nocturne, Opus 33 4:15
F6 Fuga, From The Piano Sonata, Opus 26


  • Artwork – Piet Mondrian*
  • Composed By – Aaron Copland (tracks: E3), Carl Ruggles (tracks: D1), Charles T. Griffes* (tracks: B5, B6), Charles Ives (tracks: A1 to A3), Edward MacDowell (tracks: A4), George Antheil (tracks: B7), George Gershwin (tracks: C1 to C3), Henry Cowell (tracks: B1 to B4), John Alden Carpenter (tracks: C4), Roger Sessions (tracks: E1), Roy Harris (tracks: D2), Samuel Barber (tracks: F5, F6), Virgil Thomson (tracks: F2 to F4), Wallingford Riegger (tracks: C5), Walter Piston (tracks: F1), William Schuman (tracks: E2)
  • Engineer – Carl Volkers, Jeff Wimsatt
  • Piano – Roger Shields