Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti
Label: CBS ‎– 88339
Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: UK
Date of released: 1979
Category: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, Art Rock, Avantgarde, Parody
Genre: Rock
Musician: Frank Zappa
Album's name: Sheik Yerbouti
ZIP archive size: 1819

Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti

Download links

Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti
MP3 album ZIP archive

11819 downloads at 25 mb/s
Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti
FLAC album ZIP archive

2422 downloads at 22 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 I Have Been In You
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa
A2 Flakes
Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew, Frank Zappa
A3 Broken Hearts Are For Assholes
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa, Patrick O'Hearn, Terry Bozzio
A4 I'm So Cute
Lead Vocals – Terry Bozzio
B1 Jones Crusher
Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew
B2 What Ever Happened To All The Fun In The World
Vocals – Davey Moire, Patrick O'Hearn, Terry Bozzio
B3 Rat Tomago 5:15
B4 We Gotta Get Into Something Real
Vocals – Davey Moire, Patrick O'Hearn, Terry Bozzio
B5 Bobby Brown
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa
B6 Rubber Shirt
Composed By, Bass Guitar [Solo, Medium Tempo] – Patrick O'HearnComposed By, Drums – Terry Bozzio
B7 The Sheik Yerbouti Tango 2:44
C1 Baby Snakes
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa
C2 Tryin' To Grow A Chin
Lead Vocals – Terry Bozzio
C3 City Of Tiny Lites
Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew
C4 Dancin' Fool
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa
C5 Jewish Princess
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa
D1 Wild Love
Clarinet – David OckerVocals – Frank Zappa, Napoleon M. Brock, Randy Thornton, Terry Bozzio, Tommy Mars
D2 Yo' Mama
Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Hammersmith Odeon
  • Recorded At – Deutschlandhalle
  • Recorded At – The Palladium, NYC
  • Mastered At – Masterdisk
  • Lacquer Cut At – Masterdisk
  • Printed By – Shorewood Packaging


  • Art Direction – John Williams
  • Backing Vocals – Andre Lewis, Davey Moire, Napoleon M. Brock, Randy Thornton
  • Bass Guitar – Patrick O'Hearn
  • Composed By – Frank Zappa
  • Drums – Terry Bozzio
  • Engineer [Basic Tracks] – Claus Wiedemann, Davey Moire, Kerry McNab*, Peter Henderson
  • Engineer [Overdub] – Joe Chicarelli*
  • Keyboards – Peter Wolf , Tommy Mars
  • Lead Guitar, Producer, Mixed By, Composed By – Frank Zappa
  • Management – Glotzer Management
  • Mastered By [Master Disc] – Bob Ludwig
  • Percussion, Vocals – Ed Mann
  • Photography By [Inner Spread] – Gail Zappa
  • Photography By, Cover – Lynn Goldsmith
  • Remix [Assistant Engineer] – Barbara Issak
  • Remix [Engineer] – Frank Zappa, Joe Chicarelli*
  • Rhythm Guitar – Adrian Belew


This UK reissue has label codes on the labels and sleeve, as opposed to this quite similar UK Release. In addition, the matrix-endings differ.

Discs are numbered sequentially: 1 & 2 (S CBS 83551)and 3 & 4 (S CBS 83559). Contained in semi-matt printed red liner wallets with lyrics & credits.
"Made in England"

Gatefold sleeve.

Back cover, bottom right, has CBS Ganton St., London address and Shorepak England imprint.

Management at:
"824 No. Robertson Blvd., LA 90069;
or: "Wartoke, 250 W. 57th St., NYC 10019".

On the inner sleeves the following information appears:
A1, A2, A3: Recorded live at the Odeon Hammersmith, London.
A4: Recorded at sound check Odeon Hammersmith, London.
B3: Live instrumental recorded at the Deutschland Halle, Berlin.
B7: Basic track recorded live at the Deutschland Halle, Berlin.
C1, C2, C3, C4, D1: Basic track recorded live at the Odeon Hammersmith, London.
C5: Basic track recorded live at the Palladium, NYC.
D2: Basic track for vocal section and middle of guitar solo recorded live at the Odeon Hammersmith, London; guitar solo is from a four track recording made in some little town outside of Nurnberg that I can't remember the name of.
B6 has extensive mixing and "experimental re-synchronization" work by Zappa (Also guitar work on D2).

B4: Titled "We Gotta Get Into Something Real" on label and "We've Got To Get Into Something Real" on inner sleeve and sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout, Etched): S-CBS-88339-A-2
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout, Etched): 83551-A-2
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout, Etched): S-CBS-88339-B-2
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout, Etched): 83551-B 2
  • Matrix / Runout (C-Side Runout, Etched): S-CBS-88339-C-1
  • Matrix / Runout (C-Side Runout, Etched): 83559-A-1
  • Matrix / Runout (D-Side Runout, Etched): S-CBS-88339-D1-
  • Matrix / Runout (D-Side Runout, Etched): 83559-B-1
  • Other (A-, B-, C-, & D-Sides Runout, Etched): RL
  • Other (A-, B-, C-, & D-Sides Runout, Stamped): MASTERDISK
  • Label Code (Labels and Sleeve): LC0149
  • Other (Cat # LP1): S 83551
  • Other (Cat # LP2): S 83559

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SRZ 2-1501, SRZ-2-1501 Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ‎(2xLP, Album, aut) Zappa Records, Zappa Records SRZ 2-1501, SRZ-2-1501 US 1979
S 88339 Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ‎(2xLP, Album) CBS S 88339 Spain 1979
ZAPPA 28 Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ‎(2xLP, Album, Gat) Zappa Records ZAPPA 28 Europe 1991
CBS 88339, 88339 Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ‎(2xLP, Album, LC0) CBS, CBS CBS 88339, 88339 UK Unknown
SRZ-2-1501, SRZ 2-1501 Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ‎(2xLP, Album, Gat) Zappa Records, Zappa Records SRZ-2-1501, SRZ 2-1501 Canada 1979