Various - Wattstax: The Living Word
Hip hop, Blues
Label: Stax ‎– STS-2-3010
Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Date of released: 1972
Category: Funk / Soul, Stage & Screen
Style: Soul, Funk, Soundtrack
Genre: Hip hop, Blues
Musician: Various
Album's name: Wattstax: The Living Word
ZIP archive size: 1567

Various - Wattstax: The Living Word

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Staple Singers Oh La De Da
Written-By – Phillip Mitchell
A2 The Staple Singers I Like The Things About Me
Written-By – Martha Stubb*, Roebuck Staples*
A3 The Staple Singers Respect Yourself
Written-By – Luther Ingram, Mack Rice*
A4 The Staple Singers I'll Take You There
Written-By – Alvertis Isbell
A5 Eddie Floyd Knock On Wood
Written-By – Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper
A6 Eddie Floyd Lay Your Loving On Me
Written-By – Eddie Floyd
B1 Carla Thomas I Like What You're Doing To Me
Written-By – Bettye Crutcher, Homer Banks, Raymond Jackson
B2 Carla Thomas Gee Whiz
Written-By – Carla Thomas
B3 Carla Thomas I Have A God Who Loves
Written-By – Carla Thomas
B4 Rufus Thomas The Breakdown
Written-By – Eddie Floyd, Rufus Thomas, Mack Rice*
B5 Rufus Thomas Do The Funky Chicken
Written-By – Rufus Thomas
B6 Rufus Thomas Do The Funky Penguin
Written-By – Jo Bridges, Rufus Thomas, Mack Rice*, Tom Nixon
C1 The Bar-Kays* Son Of Shaft / Feel It
Written-By – Allen Jones*, Homer Banks, William Brown*
C2 The Bar-Kays* I Can't Turn You Loose
Written-By – Otis Redding
C3 Albert King Killing Floor
Written-By – Chester Burnett
C4 Albert King I'll Play The Blues For You
Written-By – Jerry Beach
C5 Albert King Angel Of Mercy
Written-By – Homer Banks, Raymond Jackson
D1 The Soul Children* I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To
Written-By – Gene Barge
D2 The Soul Children* Hearsay
Written-By – John Colbert, Norman West
D3 Isaac Hayes Ain't No Sunshine
Written-By – Bill Withers

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Stax Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Stax Records, Inc.
  • Pressed By – Monarch Record Mfg. Co.


  • Art Direction – Wilkes & Braun Inc.
  • Conductor [Musical Conductor] – Dale Warren
  • Creative Director [Creative Direction] – Larry Shaw, Ron Gorden
  • Engineer [Recording] – Dave Purple, Pete Bishop, Ray Thompson, Tom Scott , William Brown*
  • Mastered By – L. Nix*
  • Photography By – Howard Bingham, Roland Charles, Waldo Nilo
  • Producer – Al Bell
  • Producer, Supervised By [Recording Supervision] – Tom Nixon
  • Stage Manager [Staging & Security] – Melvin Van Peebles, Yeah Inc.
  • Supervised By [Recording Supervision] – Dave Purple, Tom Nixon


Gatefold cover. Label variation of original US release (see images). Comes with dedicated picture innersleeves.

Recorded live at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, August 20, 1972, except "Oh La De Da" & "Lay Your Loving On Me" re-recorded at Paramount Studios, Muscle Shoals Sound Studios & Ardent Studios.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): SS-0437
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): SS-0438
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Label): SS-0439
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Label): SS-0440
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, A-side, hand etched): STXS - 0364-7 SS-0437 - ex - Δ 17472 L NIX
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, B-side, hand etched): STXS - 0365-2 SS-0438 STS-2-3010 Side 2 Δ 17472 - X
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, C-side, hand etched): STXS - 0362-2 SS-0432 Δ 17473 L NIX J. PYNES
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, D-side, hand etched): STXS - 0363-7 SS-0440 - ex Δ 17473 - X L NIX
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, stamped): MR (in a circle)

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
STS-2-3010 Various Wattstax: The Living Word ‎(2xLP, Album) Stax STS-2-3010 Canada 1972
2362-031 Various Wattstax, The Living Word ‎(2xLP) Stax 2362-031 UK 1972
STS-2-3010 Various Wattstax: The Living Word ‎(2xLP, Album) Stax STS-2-3010 US 1972
0888072305205 Various Music From The Wattstax Festival & Film ‎(3xCD, Comp, RM) Stax 0888072305205 Europe 2007
2628 010 Various Wattstax, The Living Word ‎(2xLP, Album) Stax 2628 010 Germany 1972