Mike Westbrook Orchestra - LoveDream And Variations
Label: Transatlantic Records ‎– TRA 323
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Date of released: 1976
Category: Jazz
Style: Contemporary Jazz
Genre: Jazz
Musician: Mike Westbrook Orchestra
Album's name: Love/Dream And Variations
ZIP archive size: 1406

Mike Westbrook Orchestra - LoveDream And Variations

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Slow
Trombone [Soloist] – Malcolm Griffiths
A2 Medium
A3 Fast
A4 Reprise
A5 Latin
Soprano Saxophone [Soloist] – Dave Chambers
B1 Waltz Part I
Trombone [Soloist] – Paul Rutherford
B2 Waltz Part II
B3 Creole Love Call
Written-By – Duke Ellington
B4 Bridge
B5 Ending Part I
B6 Ending Part II

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Olympic Studios
  • Printed By – Robor Ltd.
  • Made By – Robor Ltd.
  • Mastered At – Master Room
  • Published By – Heathside Music Ltd.
  • Published By – Lawrence Wright Music


  • Alto Saxophone, Flute – John Holbrooke
  • Alto Saxophone, Flute, Bass Clarinet – Mike Page
  • Arranged By – Mike Westbrook
  • Baritone Saxophone, Flute – John Warren
  • Bass – Chris Laurence
  • Bass Trombone – Geoff Perkins
  • Composed By – Mike Westbrook (tracks: Tracks A1 to B2, Tracks B4 to B6)
  • Design [Sleeve] – Paul Chave, Tactics
  • Drums, Percussion – Alan Jackson
  • Electric Piano – Dave MacRae
  • Guitar – Brian Godding
  • Photography By – Kate Barnard
  • Piano, Conductor – Mike Westbrook
  • Producer, Engineer – Keith Grant
  • Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Bass Clarinet – Alan Wakeman
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Clarinet – Dave Chambers
  • Trombone – Malcolm Griffiths, Paul Rutherford
  • Trumpet, Horn [Flugel] – Alan Downey , George Chisholm, Henry Lowther, Paul Cosh
  • Vibraphone, Percussion – John Mitchell


Love/Dream and Variations was commissioned by Merseyside Arts Association with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain, and first performed in Liverpool on 23rd September 1974.
Recorded at Olympic Studios, London, February 7th/8th 1976
Sleeve printed and made in England by Robor Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (runout etching side A): +one TRA 323 - A2
  • Barcode (runout etching side B): master room TRA 323 - B2

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
TACD 9.00788 O Mike Westbrook Orchestra Love/Dream And Variations ‎(CD, Album, RE) Transatlantic Records, Line Records TACD 9.00788 O Germany 1989